Dolls for boys and girls – Elli Riehl

The heat in Delhi is steaming up and school- holidays are around the corner – the perfect time to pack up the kids and get out.

Spring and summer are also the best seasons for going on a vacation to Austria. The cities are beautiful with all the culture and fabulous architecture they have on offer. I have no words for the country-side: it is simply stunning.

Today I’d like to tell you about a doll museum in Austria.

To be honest, I hardly ever played with dolls as a child. Straying around, getting myself dirty and playing with boys used to be so much more interesting and fun. One of the only memories I have that come close to dolls is the Doll Museum of Elli Riehl near Villach in the Southern state of Carinthia.

Ellie Riehl, a woman born in 1902 in the region dedicated her life to creating dolls: boys, girls, adults, angels, and more creating scenes from the life of people around her. So you can say: nothing much exciting.

When I was a tiny kid, my mother, who was born and grew up in the same region took us to that museum. I have to admit that I do not remember much of the visit itself. However, the dolls have remained in my memory till date. They elude a zest for life and give you a feeling of happiness that is difficult to describe, even now when I looked at the pictures, they gave me the same sense of comfort that they gave me then.

Maybe my nostalgia is taking me on a complete trip right now but I still suggest you pack your bags quickly, book your tickets  and zoooom off to Austria.

If you still have time for a good meal in New Delhi, then enjoy Erna’s Carinthian Dumplings. Carinthian Dumplings are a specialty from that region. They are easiest described as Austrian Ravioli that pride themselves with a thicker dough.

Enjoy your meal with http://www.ernasgourmet.com!

Maya

Ellie Riehl Doll Muesum (sorry this one is only in German, but the pictures speak an international language)

http://www.elli-riehl-puppenwelt.at/

How to get there:

http://www.region-villach.at/at/xlayout/guide/200220sy,en,SCH1/objectId,RGN772at,curr,EUR,season,at1,selectedEntry,home,_lang,en/home.html

Leave a Reply

