Erna’s Jackfruit-Dates Ice-Popsicle & Animal Rights

Anjali Gopalan with Popsicle

Animal & human rights activist Anjali Gopalan enjoying a vegan ice-popsicle

One of my favourite get-aways around Delhi is All Creatures Great and Small, an animal shelter/paradise run by my lovely friend and animal + human rights activist Anjali Gopalan.

 Since Anjali is vegan with a very, very sweet tooth I decided to make some ice cream for her and grabbed the opportunity to ask her a few questions about food while she was eating her popsicle.

 Why are you vegan?

I have been vegetarian for a very long time. A few years ago, when I started work with animals I witnessed the plight of cows and their calves. Male calves were starved to death because they are of no use and their mother’s milk is taken away for human consumption. If felt bad for the calves and thought what I could do for them.

19989114_10155314065595575_761261416_n How has a vegan lifestyle changed the way you look at food?

I did some research and realised that milk and milk products are not an essential necessity for human nutrition and I decided I could do without, veganism made sense for me.

 The only thing I need to take care of is to keep the Vitamin B12 levels balanced, for that I take supplements.

 In return, I feel that my energy levels are higher and it helped, along with other measures, control my sugar levels.

Overall being vegan is a solution where everyone benefits: I feel healthier and I contribute to a kinder and more compassionate world.

Thank you Anjali!

19970946_10155314064710575_1949366463_n

I invite you to come over to watch this lovely video on All Creatures Great and Small by India Today.

And for those who have a sweet tooth like Anjali, I will write down the vegan ice cream recipe in my next blog post… so stay tuned.

Greetings and guten Appetit,

 Chef Maya-Lisa

2 responses

  1. […] promised in my last blog post I am today sharing the ice cream recipe inspired by my vegan friend Anjali Gopalan of the animal […]

Leave a Reply

